Been Here a Year

Hard to believe that I started blogging a little over a year ago. Looking back, I’ve covered a lot of territory. The question is, am I learning anything, and am I applying it to my life? I hope so, but its hard work.

My therapist is insistent that I really need to work on being more social. Being on the internet doesn’t count! This has been difficult for me. She laughs because just about all my friends are nurses. How else would I know people except through work? Even so, I find that I have a hard time reaching out to others. It’s soooo much easier to veg at home by myself on the weekend. Again I ask, why do I have to be the one reaching out to others? I feel like sometimes someone should reach out to me!

Anyways, it has been a long year of blogging. I have learned much about writing for others and myself. It takes time and thoughtfulness to write something meaningful. I don’t know if it has been helpful to anyone else, but it has been helpful for me. I could never write a journal for myself, but this has come to me somewhat easier. Hopefully even as my depression may improve, I’ll still be able to write about significant topics.

3 responses to “Been Here a Year

  1. If you have to branch out from the nurses – try the allied health, ward clerks and cleaning staff 🙂
    Have you thought about finding an interest group or club in your area?
    Even grab a nurse friend and volunteer to do resuscitation training for the local red cross or Y or somewhere???
    Just a couple of ideas …..

  2. Thanks for all the great info here. I will be back to read some more soon.

  3. I faithfully read your blogs. They have been insightful and helpful to me…I, too, suffer from depression. Thanks for doing this blog. I’ve enjoyed reading your entries!

Leave a Reply

