But I Don’t Like to Exercise (whine)!

No kidding, and yes, I’ll take some cheese with my whine. I’ve felt more down and fatigued lately, so of course my therapist suggested I should get more exercise. Eeek. Exercise has been found to be extremely helpful in alleviating depression symptoms and it’s something you can do for yourself.

So why doesn’t walking the dog when the weather is decent count? Not my fault the weather has been crappy. Needless to say that hasn’t helped my mood either (see previous post regarding Melancholy Weather). I’m not the kind of person who enjoys exercise for exercise’s sake. I do like to do things that are purposeful and are outdoors, like biking, walking in the park, etc. I just don’t seem to find the time to do these things consistently and incorporate them as a routine part of my life. I know it should be a “priority” but there just doesn’t seem enough hours in the day.

I do enjoy gardening and when the weather finally breaks will spend many hours out in the yard. That can be an upper and lower body workout! But the key is that I am accomplishing something and I am preoccupied, so I don’t realize I am exercising. I would find walking on a treadmill just excruciating, even with music or tv to occupy my thoughts. Somehow I better find some way to tolerate more exercise (I’m not a group or class type person either) or bad weather. Would love to hear others ideas for making exercise tolerable.

 

Leave a Reply

