Friends

Everybody needs friends. It’s a part of staying connected and grounded in reality. That would be if you have true blue friends that stick by you during the hard times. The therapist told me it would be good to “socialize” and stop staying home by myself. And she’s right as usual. It’s so easy to just say everyone is busy with their own lives and stuff. I’m not the social butterfly type to begin with…I am a homebody, I don’t like crowded events, and enjoy my solitude.

Little did I know one of my good friends has struggled too. Not deep depression, more of the lack of feeling anything and I don’t want to be bothered type. Anhedonia, I believe is the term for it. Good thing she has a friend like me to set her straight! I told her like it is…yes you are depressed! It’s ok, it will get better. It’s hard to reach out to others when you don’t feel good. Lack of motivation and sense of self-worth can hinder you from taking that first step.

Friendship takes work, and it takes two people to work at it. A good friendship involves being able to share the good times and to support each other during the difficult ones. This kind of relationship is nurtured and cherished, because it is a gift. We tend to have lots of “friends” on our social network sites, but there are precious few who can be counted on as those who will always be there for you.

I hope I will always have a few special people in my life that I can count on, and who know they can count on me. I’ve always been one to not give away too much, but good friends are the people you can trust with just about anything. And I hope they know they can count on me too.

Leave a Reply

