New Eyes

The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes but in having new eyes. —-Marcel Proust

My journey has been punctuated by attempts to change things around me…change jobs, change houses, change styles, etc. Probably trying way too hard to change other people. Trying to “fix” them. All I needed to do is change the way I see things. What an epiphany! Not really, but so much harder to put into practice. The other things are easier to blame and alter than to work on myself. Besides, why don’t other people with serious issues have to work on them, especially when they impose on me (that’s a seriously rhetorical question)???

Working on my new eyes connects with my vision of a different year next year. I have to change how I see things as well as change things in my life to achieve greater happiness. So, where do I trade in these forty-ish eyes for a fresh pair? If I get to choose, I want eyes of wisdom, all-knowing and all-understanding. And it doesn’t hurt if they are stunningly beautiful either. Perhaps a pale blue, or cat-eye green. It will definitely be a challenge to see things differently. I imagine it will take practice just like any new skill.

Yet I can’t escape the changes required in my landscape either. That I addressed in my last post. I should probably make a list of what I don’t need to change, it would be a lot shorter. I have a heck of a lot to do over the next few weeks to get started.

2 responses to “New Eyes

  1. You are well on your way, Jennifer. Don’t try to change things too quickly. Try changes in small increments. That is what I have found helpful. I’d love to get together and talk in person sometime. I have suffered for so many years, but am feeling so much better these days. Maybe bouncing ideas off of one another may prove beneficial to both of us.

  2. Keep going — you’re doing a great job. I’m learning from your posts.

    Luv,

Leave a Reply

