Music for Your Mood or, I’m Only Happy When it Rains

When I’m feeling bad and want to wallow, there is certain music that accompanies that mood. Sarah McLachlan, Sheryl Crow and Alanis Morrissette carried me through the dark days of my divorce proceedings. Literally carried at times. Oh, the nineties were a special time in women’s music. Sarah suits the melancholy broken heart, as does Sheryl. Alanis is the one to call on for the days of being not just sad and broken, but definitely that angry edge. Even if she and I have both grown up over the years, We can still belt out “You Oughta Know” in the car together.

When I’m feeling particularly down on myself, Garbage fits the bill nicely. The heavy beat and grinding guitars are good for numbing out, especially to titles like, “I’m Only Happy When it Rains.” In spite of the recommendation to avoid alcohol, I sometimes indulge in a glass of wine or two as well, since I’m already having a bad day. Again, my philosophy is sometimes you just have to wallow for a day or two and get it out of your system and move on.

However, of course there is plenty of music for good days too. But this blog is about depression silly. Please share your favorite melancholy music too.

I’m Only Happy When it Rains by Garbage

2 responses to “Music for Your Mood or, I’m Only Happy When it Rains

  1. This is one of my all-time favorite songs. Haven’t heard it in a long time….was nice to revisit those old “happy” days when I thought things were going to be just fine. Oh how I wish I knew then what I know now.

    • You and me both Amy. So many lyrics speak to me at different times, it’s a wonder I can come up with any original words or thoughts of my own. When we were young it seemed like life held so much promise…not sure exactly if I should be expecting anything at this point now. Just trying to muddle through and hoping the good days outnumber the bad. Hindsight! I think we learn sooo much from our mistakes, and I have made quite a few. I think I would take better care of myself too. We are the only ones that can do that.

Leave a Reply

